NITI Aayog Appoints Four Distinguished Fellows

  • For one year under Fellowship Guidelines.
  • The members will bring significant work experience and their understanding and expertise of key social, economic and technical issues.

They are:

Prof. (Dr.) Anoop Singh:

  • A member of the Fifteenth Finance Commission, Dr. Anoop Singh.
  • Has worked with the International Monetary Fund as Director of the Asia Pacific Department, Director of the Western Hemisphere Department, and Director of Special Operations in the Office of the Managing Director.
  • Special Adviser to then Governors of the Reserve Bank of India.
  • His research focused on India’s fiscal architecture, governance, and federalism.

    Dr. O.P Agarwal:

  • An IAS officer of the 1979 batch.
  • Involved in the formulation of national urban transport policy.
  • Worked with the World Bank for 6 years as global Urban Transport Adviser in Washington DC.
  • Was an Executive Director at the Indian School of Business.
  • CEO of the World Resources Institute.
  • Chaired the US Transport Research Boards Committee on Transport in Developing Countries for 6 years.
  • PhD in Transport Economics from the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, Master’s degree in Transportation and another in Technology Policy from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology Madras.

Dr. Ajai Chowdhry

  • One of the co-founders of HCL.
  • Served on various Government Committees since 1999.
  • In 2009, he chaired a Task Force created by the Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology which made recommendations regarding the electronics import bill.
  • It formed the foundation of the Electronics Policy.
  • Has been nominated by MEITY as a member of the Advisory Board in India Semiconductor Mission.
  • Member of the Consultation Group on Science & Technology and Innovation Sector.
  • Member of the Committee on the Semiconductor sector in NITI Aayog.
  • Conferred Padma Bhushan in 2011.
  • Bachelor’s degree in Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering from Jabalpur Engineering College.
  • Awarded Honoris Causa (D. Sc) by IIT Roorkee, Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design & Manufacturing, Jabalpur, and University of Engineering & Management, Kolkata.

Sh. V. Lakshmikumaran 

  • Legal Expert and has 35 years of experience in law 
  • advises companies in all areas of taxation, including International Taxation and Transfer Pricing, Goods and Services Tax (GST), Customs, Excise, Service Tax, Value Added Tax (VAT), Foreign Trade Policy, and Special Economic Zones, offering consulting, advisory, litigation and compliance services 
Posted in Current Affairs.