India Win Accolades at AIGIF in Malaysia

  • Two grassroots innovators and one student innovator
  • At the 4th edition of ASEAN India Grassroots Innovation Forum
  • hosted by Malaysia’s Ministry of Science, Technology, and Innovation
  • Concluded on November 30, 2023.

Indian Winners:

  • Mr. Dipak Bharali from Sualkuchi, Kamrup, Assam.
  • Mr Sunil Shinde from Jalna, Maharashtra.
  • Ms Aanchal Aggarwal from Delhi.

Winners at NIF:

  • All of them had been earlier recognised by the National Innovation Foundation.
  • Mr. Dipak Bharali won a state award during the 5th National Grassroots Innovation and Outstanding Traditional Knowledge Award.
  • Mr Sunil Shinde was conferred with a State Award during the 11th National Grassroots Innovation and Outstanding Traditional Knowledge Award.
  • Ms Aanchal Aggarwal previously won the INSPIRE MANAK in the 10th NLEPC held during October 2023.

Participation from India:

  • Dr. Sulakshana Jain, Scientist E, Department of Science and Technology Government of India.
  • Other staff members of NIF.
  • A total of 17 student innovators and grassroots innovators from India.

The List of Winners:

Prize Innovator’s Name Country Title Of Innovation



1 Mr. Dipak Bharali India Weft Insertion Device
2 Mr. Chatchai Deesawat Thailand EV Ever-Green
3 Mr. Sunil Shinde

Mr. Rusdi Bin Mohd Rifin



Silkworm Breeding Net Folding Machine

Compact Semi-Auto/Manual Sate Skewering Machine




1 Kawinnart Pongmesa Thailand  Organic Sanitary Pads From Plant Fibers Coated With Kaffir Lime Extract
2 Huda Solehah Muhammad Sallehuddin Malaysia Ruboba & Ruscrub
3 Aanchal Aggarwal India Parkinson Lathi

About AIGIF:

  • It is an annual programme focused on fostering a strengthened relationship between India and ASEAN Member States for cooperation in Science, Technology, and Innovation.
  • It aims to give exposure to social innovations in different countries.
  • It strengthens governance in the grassroots innovation ecosystem.
  • This year it encompassed speaker sessions, panel discussions, exhibition of innovations and two innovation competitions.
  • India and 10 AMS participated.
  • It is a collaboration between the ASEAN Committee on Science, Technology, and Innovation (COSTI); Department of Science & Technology (DST), Government of India; National Innovation Foundation (NIF) – India and the Science and Technology Ministry of the host nation, Malaysia’s Ministry of Science, Technology, and Innovation (MOSTI).
  • Yayasan Inovasi Malaysia (YIM) is an agency under MOSTI which executed the AIGIF this year.
Posted in Current Affairs.