First Meeting of National Traders’ Welfare Board

  • Constituted by the Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT).
  • At Vanijya Bhawan, New Delhi.


  • To identify policy measures to achieve the objective of the welfare of traders and their employees.
  • To suggest simplifications in the Acts and Rules applicable to traders.
  • To make recommendations to reduce the compliance burden of traders.
  • To improve access to funds for traders.
  • To make recommendations regarding social security benefits like insurance, pension, healthcare etc., for traders and their employees.
  • To make recommendations to address any other problems and issues of traders and their employees.

The Board:

  • One Chairperson (Non-Official).
  • Up to 5 members (Non-Official) having special knowledge of matters relating to the technical or other aspects of retail trade.
  • Up to 10 members (Non-Official) representing Trade Associations.
  • One Non-Official member representing each State and Union Territory.
  • 9 Ex-officio representatives from Ministries/Departments.
  • Joint Secretary, DPIIT (dealing with Internal Trade) shall be the Convener of the Board.
  • All non-official members nominated by the Central Government representing Trade Associations and States/UTs attend the meeting of the Board.
  • Also attended by ex-officio members representing Nine Ministries Departments of the Government of India.
Posted in Current Affairs.